Please note that features of the California Baptist University website may not function properly with Internet Explorer versions 7 or 8.
For the best viewing experience, we recommend upgrading to the latest Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, or Firefox.x
Quick Links

Alumni and Friends

Advancement Home

Homecoming Alumni Awards

The Alumni Awards Banquet held November 2, 2012 recognized the classes of 1962 and 1987, as well as professional and athletic achievement.

Marilyn Crabtree, a 1962 graduate, received the Alumni Service Award for her work with the Sacramento Area Alumni & Parents Regional Network. Crabtree was instrumental in organizing the network and continues to spearhead and coordinate area events.

Tom Holladay, a 1977 graduate, was honored with the Distinguished Service in Christian Ministries Aware. Holladay serves as a teaching pastor at Saddleback Church in Lake Forest and also teaches a daily 10-minute podcast called DriveTime Devotions that covers a Bible chapter each week.

Dr. Richard Phillips, an alumnus from the class of 1985, received the Alumni Philanthrophy Award for his work as founding chairman of CBU’s board of visitors and his help in organizing the university’s Oxford international business studies program.

During the banquet, three former CBU athletes were inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame. They included Verania Willis Lindo, 2005-07 women’s volleyball; Russell Thompson, 2004-07 swimming; and Candice Thomas, 2004-07 softball.

The CBU Alumni Awards Banquet held February 17, 2012 recognized the professional and athletic achievement of five distinguished alumni.

John Tavaglione, a 1987 business graduate, was named Alumnus of the Year. Tavaglione currently serves as a Riverside County Supervisor for the second district.

Chrystal Kern, a 1976 accounting and criminal justice graduate was honored with the Lancer Medal. Kern serves as the Chief Financial Officer for the American Israeli Public Affairs Committee and is a member of the advisory council for the Robert K. Jabs School of Business.

During the banquet, three former athletes were inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame. They included Yajaira Prado Cadet, 2004-05 women’s volleyball; Steven Ferreira, 2001-04 baseball; and Milton Browne, 1996-99 track and field.

In addition to the achievement awards, five alumni from the class of 1987 received their silver medallion in honor of their 25th reunion and fifteen alumni from the class of 1962 received their gold medallion celebrating the 50th anniversary of their graduation from CBU.